Long time readers of this blog should be familiar with the name SceneRace (or ScR). ScR is a general/0day torrent tracker based on the gazelle codebase. Earlier today, visitors to SceneRace homepage saw a strange message. It claimed that one of ScR staffers ‘stole’ their server and they were betrayed. The site has since been down and remains to be offline at the time this post is being written. There was promise of site coming back online along with the launch of ScR v3 so we don’t think fans of the tracker have anything to worry about. Full message that was posted on SceneRace homepage is quoted below:


SceneRace's server has been stolen from us by our traitorous staffer [name edited] from the infamous Funfile tracker. He has the database with ips and emails, and undoubtably will try to use those to forward his malicious agenda, after a failed attempt at overthrowing kliik (ScR Founder). SceneRace.net WILL return soon, with the V3 codebase in action! Until then, do not trust any emails from the .org domain, which has been setup by juan to undoutably lure unsuspecting members into his trap. -The REAL SceneRace team

We don’t know how true this message is as we’ve not been able to confirm it with a ScR staffer – right now the above text is not displayed on homepage and seems to have been replaced with the word ‘Oops’ and the title ‘brb’. They probably will be back online sooner than expected? However it’s recommended that you change passwords ASAP, just to be on the safe side (if you are using the same password on ScR and on other trackers that is). When ScR v3 is launched, this blog will be updated.

UPDATE: ScR has confirmed that the story is indeed true.

“they didn't as such 'steal the server' more like tried to overthrow the sysops so then the decision was made to change the domain DNS. then as they had access to server (lower admins payed for it) they stole that.”

Related Articles

This story was first broken via our Twitter feed @filenetworks.


  1. Unknown // 10/23/2009 02:13:00 AM  

    Sorry to hear that if it is true.

    ScR is one of my favorite trackers.

    Guys, if you need a server or help, contact me.

  2. Unknown // 10/23/2009 05:20:00 AM  

    Really great help from you Mr.Yocto...ScR was one of my favorites too :(

    Hope they find a sollution soon!

  3. Lightning_Struck_Tower // 10/23/2009 08:20:00 AM  

    ScR has confirmed the story is true. See UPDATE at end of article.

  4. Surfer // 10/23/2009 10:54:00 AM  

    http://supertorrents.org/signup.php open

  5. Lightning_Struck_Tower // 10/23/2009 10:57:00 AM  

    thanks. detailed review will be posted later today.

  6. CSS // 10/23/2009 02:34:00 PM  

    SmokingInTheRain (SITR) is also down.


    Their server has gone down & due to lack of funds they are stoping it & not planning to come back.

    Sad state of affairs.

  7. Anonymous // 10/23/2009 07:59:00 PM  

    Wow. I know what it feels like to be betrayed by a staffer all too well. won't tell the story though.

    And SITR - always sad to see a site go down...but to be blunt, if a site can't sustain itself to survive, then maybe it rightly so shouldn't exist. There are too many trackers out there. Especially general trackers. Let the ones that are NEEDED survive.

  8. Anonymous // 10/24/2009 12:25:00 AM  
    This comment has been removed by the author.
  9. Anonymous // 10/24/2009 12:27:00 AM  

    supertorrents.org signups are closed

  10. Tim Luckey // 10/24/2009 10:45:00 AM  
    This comment has been removed by the author.
  11. PJCman2001 // 10/25/2009 07:11:00 PM  

    is not open for signups i don't know what you are talking about surfer.

    Im sure its just a small tracker anyhow maily because the filenetworks team knows about all the big trackers.... they are members are alot of them and im sure staff at some.

  12. Lightning_Struck_Tower // 10/25/2009 07:20:00 PM  

    SuperTorrents was open when that comments was made. It was only open for several hours we missed out on posting that.

    ST is actually a pretty large tracker. They are the sister site of STMusic.

    And no, we are not staff of any tracker :)